Easter Windows

IMG_0477Easter is on it’s way!  It came very early this year.  Seems I was just catching my breath, recovering from the long and intense weeks of Christmas window painting, when I received a call from Fortunatos, “Can you come paint Easter tomorrow?”  And that was before the month of February ended.

Easter window painting isn’t anywhere near the intensity of Christmas window painting but I do have a few steady clients each year.  Here are some of the windows in Brooklyn and Queens starting with the infamous Fortunatos.

IMG_0476

It was a good 20 minutes after midnight before I finished these windows.   Edgar, one of the Baristas,  stood around waiting for me to finish so he could lock up.

IMG_0475

IMG_0480

This is a new client in Astoria Queens.  The owner lives near Fortunatos; thats how he got my number.

Easter 2013

When the sun is still out my windows take on a whole different look.  Just like stained glass the sun lights it up and makes it glow.

Queens-20130303-01436

Edgar, the Barista from Fortunatos, owns a restaurant in Brooklyn on Starr street.  It’s a newly gentrified area next to Williamsburg, Brooklyn.  He was such a good sport waiting for me after midnight that I was more than happy to bring a little Easter to his restaurant.

Brooklyn-20130307-01444

I have a free meal for me and a guest coming to me next time I’m in town.  A word of advice… always make free food a part of the painting deal.  You never go home hungry!

Brooklyn-20130307-01445

Below is another restaurant in Brooklyn.  This one is ideally located on Grand street just off of Lorimar.  Bahia. The owner told me he has been there for 14 years.  “So why have I not eaten here with my children?”  I asked.  He looked at me and said, “Yes, why haven’t you eaten here with your children?”

IMG_0487
Even though this restaurant is Salvadoran and Latin American Cuisine, the smells and aromas coming from the kitchen brought me back to the ethnic Polish restaurants I’ve been to in Chicago.  The European style seating where tables are all in a row and strangers sit right next to each other, had the same set up.  And yes, I did leave with a very large goody bag of delicious food for my crew waiting for me back home.  🙂

IMG_0488

Lastly, Doggie Day Care in Manhattan.  Alicia, the owner is the best.  She does all the holidays and is always happy with what I paint.  Work is so much easier when a customer is consistently pleased with your ideas.

Manhattan-20130324-01470

Manhattan-20130324-01468

Speaking of Doggie Day Care, here are some St. Patrick’s Day and Valentine’s Day Windows.

Manhattan-20130324-01465

Manhattan-20130226-01425

IMG-20130109-01216

This is their winter Christmas window.

IMG-20121219-01184

IMG-20121219-01184

Finally, my long time friend Robert at Capri-Jet Realty in the heart of Williamsburg; a man who always wants the biggest bang for his buck.  So I crammed in as much holiday as I could for the price of one.

Brooklyn-20130117-01229

Brooklyn-20130117-01230

Brooklyn-20130117-01231

Thank you for stopping by to read my post.  It is my hope that when people see these images it brings a little smile to their face.  Easter, being the greatest of the Christian holidays, is about new life and new hope in the risen Lord.  Whether we are Christian or Jewish, Muslim or another religion, we are all united by the God of Abraham and a common humanity.  I hope the spirit of Easter, that peace and love are a part of your family this season.  Peace.







5 responses to “Easter Windows

  1. anurri@libero.it

    you let me feel this religious my Dearest..!

  2. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that youˇ¦ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What an ideal web site.

  3. Nice work on all the windows Theresa, you are very good at this, have you been doing this for a while and how did you start, with friends businesses or just door to door canvasing? I think I may want to try it out here in Phoenix but only got my one window done lol haven’t even put on the sealer yet! yikes may do it before it gets too hot – thanks sorry for the hundred questions
    take care Aloha Kevin

  4. Hi Kevin,

    Thank you for your comment. I have been doing this for 20 years now. I can’t believe all this time has passed by! i started out doing the windows of a pastry shop in Brooklyn that my friends and I went to. From there, several near-by businesses wanted the same thing on their windows. (They all know each other and have a friendly competition between them; and there is a real pride among the Italian business owners to decorate their windows. )
    I also did some cold canvasing but always hit those same businesses, bakeries, pastry shops, pizzerias, diners. In the NYC area, the Greek owned and Italian owned businesses almost always were open to having their windows painted. Those 2 cultural groups are very supportive of the Christian holidays. Thus, most of my work is for Christmas and then easter.

    I have not found the same thing here in Connecticut. Shortly after moving here I thought I’d get a few local businesses to paint their windows and very few were interested in it, unlike the businesses in Brooklyn. The people in CT who did go for doing their windows were a consistent clientele; bakeries and pizzerias. (All diners said no, but I did notice the owners were not Greek- isn’t that an interesting observation?)

    Hey, I am going to be visiting my parents in Phoenix next week. Not sure how much time I’ll have because we are taking my kids to the Grand Canyon and other stuff, but is your business window in a Phoenix shopping area? Maybe we will be passing by on our visit. Hope the weather is better than it has been here!

    All the best to you. Please let me know if you have any other questions. I am more than happy to support my fellow artists.

    kind regards,

    Theresa

Leave a Reply

