Art Supplies

Today I decided to make a trip into the city to stock up on art supplies.

I completely ran out of Sap Green; a very important color when mixed with Alizarin Crimson.  The mixing of the two make a very warm and transparent brown that I like to start my paintings with.

Since there isn’t any parking on the streets in Manhattan during regular business hours I parked my car in Brooklyn.  This is Williamsburg, Brooklyn- Bedford Avenue.  It used to be a scary place to be at night 20 years ago because of the drug scene.  It is now completely gentrified and very bike friendly!

Sometimes you see and hear scenes like this when you are waiting for the subway train.

Or you come upon lovely little duets like this one.

My daughter wants to play her violin in the subway one day.  She has to get the courage up.  We traveled three times through air ports last year with her violin and she was too scared to play in front of strangers.

This is the amazingly beautiful wall of every color of oil paint I could ever want!  I feel like a kid in a candy store when I get inside.  The sights, the sounds, the smells; it is a little slice of heaven right here on earth.

Then, when I get to the cash register, I arrive back to earth and back to reality.  The prices for cadmium colors always come with sticker shock!

I like the green lighted marquee sign at this stop.  This is the way back to my conveniently parked car.  BTW, I recently had a hubcap stolen from one of the tires.  We think it happened in the church parking lot back in Connecticut when we were at mass.  Go figure.

Brooklyn hairdressers.  The one on the right is from Kansas.  We agreed that we were practically neighbors years ago since Nebraska and Kansas are right next to each other.

And that was the days adventure all in the name of Art – supplies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Art Supplies

  1. Teri, I love your blog so much! Keep up the great work – I look forward to your posts…

Leave a Reply

