The Boss Painting

September 2, 2011

Would you believe the little baby in this painting now has a driver’s permit?  I’m his mother and I am having a hard time believing it.  It was one of those days where I sat in a typical understaffed-overcrowded DMV and I kept thinking, “Where the heck did the time go?” 

Why are certain moments in life so fleeting yet some days drag on so long you pray for them to end? 

Does father time have to be so cruel and keep the clock ticking?  I wish I could reach my hand back into that world and stop the pendulum from swinging; just for a moment.  Not to stop the inevitable or the future but long enough to savor those sweet moments just a little bit longer.

Like the day I taught him how to ride his bike.  That look of accomplishment and mile wide smile said it all.  My reserved quiet six-foot tall teenager had that same look on his face today and I could feel the tears welling up in my eyes.   So I put on my sunglasses and said, “Here’s the keys you can drive home!”  And he said, “Mommy please drive home from here I’m scared to drive on the highway.”   He still needs me. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

